Professional Tax Registration in India

Professional Tax is a tax imposed by some of the state governments in India on persons earning income from salary or practising professionals such as Chartered Accountant, Company Secretary, Lawyer, Doctor etc. and from the company, LLP, Directors and Designated Partners.


Profession Tax Registration In India

The persons falling under the ambit of professional tax and the employers employing staff for their business need to obtain registration with appropriate department designated for compliance of professional tax in a particular state within 30 days of coming under the purview of the applicability of professional tax. Each professional, the Directors of Company, Designated Partners of the LLP or any other employer is under obligation to seek registration as mentioned above and to ensure that professional tax is deducted from the salary of employees. The deducted professional tax from the employees must be deposited in the appropriate office designated by the state government, and a return of professional tax must be filed specifying the payment of professional tax. Every employer is under an obligation to deduct and pay tax on behalf of employees, for this purpose the employer should obtain the registration certificate from the departmental of professional tax within 30 days from the date of his liability.

Applicability of Professional Tax

Company/ LLP/Firm
Company/ LLP/Firm
The persons like HUF, firm, Limited Liability Partnership (LLP), Company, Corporations, other Corporate bodies, any societies, Club or Association is considered as a taxable person under Professional Tax. Or every branch of the above said persons are treated as the separate person for the purpose of registration with the Professional Tax Department and Tax payments.
Directors & Partners
Directors & Partners
Persons acting as Directors of the Companies, the Partner of a firm or designated partner and Partners of LLP are also considered as Professionals. Hence, to comply with the provisions of Professional Tax law the Directors and Partners are required to obtain registration under PT Act, within 30 days of their appointment.
Individual Professionals
Individual Professionals
Legal Practitioners including Solicitors and Notaries, Medical Representatives including Medical Consultants and Dentists, Doctors, Chartered Accountant, Company Secretaries, Management Consultants, Architectures, Engineers, Tax Consultants, Insurance Agents, and Surveyors all kind of Contractors etc.
As an Employer
As an Employer
The professional tax on salaried individuals in applicable state is to be collected by the employer after making the appropriate deduction from the salary of the employees and to deposit with the professional tax department. The employer needs to obtain registration with professional tax department within 30 days of its applicability
Documents required for Professional Tax Registration for Company /LLP

Certificate of Incorporation, MOA & AOA / LLP Agreement.

PAN card of Company/LLP duly attested by directors of the company

Premises proof of Company and an NOC from the owner of such premises

Bank Account of Company: Cancelled cheque and bank statement.

List of Directors, passport size Photographs of all Directors, Id and address proof.

Board Resolution or consent statement of partners

Attendance Register & Salary Register


  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Assam
  • Bihar
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Gujarat
  • Jharkhand
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Madhya Pradesh

Professional Tax


  • Maharashtra
  • Manipur
  • Meghalaya
  • Mizoram
  • Orissa
  • Pondicherry
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Tripura
  • West Bengal

Professional Tax